Fee Information

Schedule-of-Fees

Device Registration Fees

Commercial device registration fees are based on a statewide fee structure approved by the State Legislature and signed in to law by the Governor. Annual fees are assessed for each device leased, owned, or operated by an individual or business. The registration fees are intended to partially offset the cost incurred by Weights and Measures in administering the commercial weighing and measuring device programs as well as providing inspection services for verification of net-content and labeling requirements regulated under the Quantity Control Program.

As defined under Business and Profession Code Section 12240, a business Location Fee of $100 is charged for each individual "business location". A Device Registration Fee and State Administrative Fee is charged for each device type owned and operated by a business.

The following fees are effective January 1, 2010 and are charged under authority granted by the California Business and Professions Code (B&P) and California Code of Regulations (CCR)

  • Device Fees: B&P, Division 5, Section 12240(f)-(t); Location Fee: Section 12240(f);
  • State Administrative Fee: B&P Code Section 12241 and CCR Title 4, Division 9, Chapter 3, Article 3, Section 4075
Device TypesRate for EachState Admin FeeDevice TypesRate for EachState Admin Fee
Hanging Scale $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Livestock (2,000-10,000 lbs.) Scale $ 150.00 $ 8.00
Computing Scale $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Livestock (> 10,000 lbs.) Scale $ 150.00 $ 12.00
Counter Scale $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Miscellaneous Meter $ 20.00 $ 1.10
Retail Water Meter $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Miscellaneous Scale $ 20.00 $ 1.10
Electric Sub-Meter $ 2.00 $ 0.10 Platform Scale (Less than 2K) $ 20.00 $ 1.10
Fabric/Cord/Wire Meter $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Retail Motor Fuel Meter $ 20.00 $ 1.10
Scales (Other than Lvstk) (2K-10K lbs.) $ 150.00 $ 8.00 Vapor Sub-Meter $ 2.00 $ 0.10
Scales (Other than Lvstk) (> 10,000 lbs.) $ 250.00 $ 12.00 Vehicle Scale $ 250.00 $ 12.00
Jeweler's Scale $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Water Sub-Meter $ 2.00 $ 0.10

L. P. Gas Meter -Stationary or Truck mounted

$ 175.00 $ 8.00 Wholesale Meter $ 25.00 $ 1.10
Taxi Meter $ 20.00 $ 1.10 Vehicle Meter                     $ 25.00 $1.10

Device Re-inspections and Non-commercial Owner/User Requests

The Sealer will recover re-inspection cost for devices found in violation of Business and Professions Code, Section 12107 - "Tolerances and Specifications" in accordance with Business and Professions Code, Section 12210 and Tehama County Code Section. The re-inspection fee varies according to the device.  Tehama County will also verify device accuracy for non-commercial devices upon request by the device owner or user at the rates listed below.   

Device Re-inspection Fees (Effective January 1, 2009)

Device Type Labor Rate

Vehicle Rate

Small Capacity Scales $ 100.00 per hour

$1.75 per mile (up to 10,000 GVW)

Large Capacity Scales (all scales exceeding 3,000 lbs capacity) $ 100.00 per hour

$ 2.50 per mile (10.000 to 40,000 GVW) 

Retail Gasoline Dispensers $ 70.00 per hour

$ 1.00 per mile  

Wholesale Petroleum Meters $ 90.00 per hour

$ 1.50 per mile 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Meters $ 90.00 per hour

$ 1.00 per mile

All Other Commercial Devices $ 70.00 per hour

$ 1.00 per mile 

Penalty Fees

In accordance with Tehama County Code Section 6.24.100, any person failing to renew a certificate within 30 days following the certificate expiration date shall be required to pay an additional sum equal to fifty (50) % of the registration fee. All penalty fees are due in addition to the original invoiced fee. Penalty fees are not applicable to State Administrative Fees. Unpaid accounts over 60 days past the "due date", will be forwarded to the Tehama County District Attorney for processing.